Three Free State municipalities to have power supply cut by Eskom

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Eskom has announced that it plans to stop providing power to three municipalities in the Free State due to non-payment.

While the power is being cut due to non-payment, Eskom says it is also cutting power to reduce the escalation of the debt the municipalities are incurring.

The power supply will be cut from 3rd December from 06:00 to 20:00 everyday of the week until such time as payment or payment arrangements are made.

“Eskom recognises that to indefinitely stop the supply of electricity services may cause undue hardship to consumers and memebers of the community, and may adversely affect the delivery of other services,” Eskom wrote in a statement.

“In view of this and in order to minimise any hardship to consumers and members of the community, Eskom will withhold its electricity supply servcies in a regulated pattern.”

The municipalities and towns affected by these power cuts include:

Mangaung Metropolitan Municipality

  • Bloemfontein
  • Botshabelo
  • Thaba Nchu
  • Dewetsdorp
  • Wepener
  • Van Standensrus

Mafube Local Municipality

  • Cornelia
  • Frankfort
  • Tweeling
  • Villiers
  • Namahadi (select areas)

Mantsopa Local Municipality

  • Dawiesville
  • Excelsior
  • Ladybrand
  • Tweespruit

Should the situation not improve Eskom said it would serve notice to terminate supply services entirely and indefinitely.

Brendyn Lotz

Brendyn Lotz

Brendyn Lotz writes news, reviews, and opinion pieces for Hypertext. His interests include SMEs, innovation on the African continent, cybersecurity, blockchain, games, geek culture and YouTube.