Telkom’s R599 uncapped LTE broadband offer extended to 200 new areas

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

In June Telkom began rolling out its SmartBroadband Uncapped High Speed Wireless packages in selected neighbourhoods, giving LTE access to 150 users per base station for only R599.

While the initial offering was only limited to a small number of areas, the company announced today that it will be making the service available to 200 more suburbs in Gauteng.

During the first phase of the roll-out, 400 people in Gauteng took up the offer in 29 locations, but Telkom expects more users to sign up from 7 September, as more locations will be added in the Western Cape and Durban in the coming months.

“We are rolling out the second phase of the Smartbroadband Uncapped High Speed Wireless Broadband in an effort to spread this offer to more places in Gauteng and eventually around the country,” said Attila Vitai, managing director of Telkom Mobile and Consumer in a media statement.

“After the success of the first phase, we are confident that this one-of-a-kind offering in South Africa will continue to provide high speed broadband at unprecedented value.”

If you are interested in getting Telkom’s SmartBroadband Uncapped High Speed Wireless packages, head on over to its site to see if your suburb is being covered this time around. But remember – signups only open on Monday.

The pricing structure for the additional packages will also remain the same as with the launch offering – R599 for the first 50 customers, R699 for the second 50 and R799 for the final 50 available packages at each base station.

If you are unlucky enough to fall outside the 150 people per base station, Telkom will add your name to a waiting list for when it expands access to more people.


According to TechCentral, the complete list of suburbs will be:

Arcadia (four sites), Bedford Gardens, Benoni SP (two sites), Birch Acres Ext 6, Birchleigh, Boksburg SP (three sites), Boksburg SP (two sites), Boksburg West, Bonaero Park, Bosmont, Brackenhurst, Bram Fischerville Ext 5, Bramley, Brixton, Brummeria, Bryanston, Capital Park (two sites), Caribbean Beach, Cason, Castleview, Centurion SP3, Chartwell AH, Chloorkop, Chrisville, Cinderella, City and Suburban, Claremont, Commercia Ext 9, Cottesloe, Crosby, Crowthorne AH (two sites), Crystal Park, Dalpark, Danville Ext 1, Dhlamini, Die Wilgers, Dobsonville, Doornfontein, Dube, Dunkeld, Eastleigh, Ecaleni, Edleen, Eersterust Ext 2, Eersterust Ext 5, Eersterust Ext 6, Eloffsdal, Elspark, Equestria, Essexwold, Faerie Glen, Florentia, Florida (two sites), Florida Glen, Fontainebleau, Forest Hill, Garsfontein, Germiston SP, Gezina, Glen Austin AH SP2, Glen Marais, Glenhazel, Groeneweide, Groenkloof (two sites), Haddon, Hermanstad, Highlands North, Hyde Park, Illovo, Irene Security Estate, Jabavu (two sites), Johannesburg SP (two sites), Kagiso Central, Kempton Park SP, Kenilworth, Kew, Kirkney, Koedoespoort, Koedoespoort Industrial, Krugersdorp Central (two sites), Kwaggasrand, Laudium SP (two sites), Leachville, Lenasia Ext 10, Lenasia Ext 11, Les Marais, Lilianton, Linden, Linksfield, Linksfield Ridge (two sites), Loftus Stadium (four sites), Lorentzville, Lotus Gardens, Lynnwood, Lynnwood Manor, Malvern, Mamelodi MD1, Mayfair, Mayibuye SP, Mayville, Meadowlands East Zone 1, Menlo Park, Menlyn, Meyerspark, Mimosa Park, Monument Park, Moregloed, Moreleta Park, Morningside, Mountain View, Muckleneuk (two sites), Mulbarton, Nellmapius SP, New Doornfontein (two sites), New Doornfontein, Newtown, Nieuw Muckleneuk (two sites), Noordheuwel, Northcliff (two sites), Northgate, Northmead, Norton’s Home Estates, Ormonde, Park Town Estate, Parktown, Paulshof, Philip Nel Park, Pierre van Ryneveld, Pimville Zone 6, President Ridge, Pretoria Gardens, Pretoria West (four sites), Proclamation Hill (two sites), Protea Glen (two sites), Queenswood (three sites), Quellerie Park, Randhart, Ravensky, Regents Park, Ridgeway, Rietfontein (three sites), River Club, Riverlea, Roodekop (two sites), Roodepoort SP, Roodeport West, Rooihuiskraal, Rosettenville, Salvokop, Sandringham, Selection Park Sharon Park, Shere SH, Silverfields, Silverton (two sites), Silverton Ext 5, Skosana, Southdowns Irene Country Farm, Springs Central, Strubenvale, Suiderberg, Sydenham, Technikon Rant, Tedstone Ville, Thaba Tshwane, Tladi, Trevenna, Turffontein, Val De Grace, Van Dyk Park, Van Ryn AH, Villieria (three sites), Voortrekker Monument, Waterkloof (two sites), Waterkloof Heights, Waterkloof Ridge, Waverley (four sites), West Park, Wierda Park, Willow Park Manor, Windmill Park, Witfield, Witpoortjie and Wonderboom South.

Charlie Fripp

Charlie Fripp

Charlie started his professional life as a motoring journalist for a community newspaper in Mpumalanga, Charlie explored different journalistic angles since his entry into the fast-paced world of publishing in 2006. While fostering a passion for the arts, Charlie developed a love for technology – both which allowed him to serve as Entertainment and Technology Editor for an online publication. Charlie has since been heavily involved in consumer technology for various websites and publications. He thoroughly enjoys World War II films and cerebral documentaries; aviation; photography and indie music. Oh yes, and he also has a rather strange obsession with collecting coffee mugs from his travels.