Ad hoc committee for SABC board inquiry to hold first meeting

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

The parliamentary ad hoc committee that will be part of an inquiry into the SABC board’s fitness to hold office will hold its first meeting tomorrow.

The committee is made up of eleven members of different political parties in total – six from the ANC, two from the DA, one from the EFF and two members of parliament representing smaller parties.

The members are:


  • Vincent Smith
  • Makhosi Khoza
  • Patrick Chauke
  • Juli Killian
  • Fezeka Loliwe
  • Jabulani Mahlangu


  • Phumzile van Damme
  • Mike Waters


  • Floyd Shivambu
  • Mbuyiseni Ndlozi

Other parties

  • Liezl Van der Merwe (IFP)
  • Achmed Shaik-Emam (NFP), who will alternate with Nqabayomzi Kwankwa (UDM) and Nhlanhla Khubisa (NFP)

Tomorrow’s meeting will be to elect a committee chairperson, brief the committee on the process of the inquiry and adopt the committee programme.

Parliament’s Portfolio Committee on Communications decided to hold an inquiry into the SABC board, following a meeting it held with it last month, to discuss a number of issues, including Hlaudi Motsoeneng’s appointment as GE of Corporate Affairs.

During the meeting, two board members resigned, while another resigned a few weeks afterwards. It was resolved that the board had to be dissolved and that the due process, including an inquiry into its fitness, would have to be followed before doing so.



Hypertext creates relevant business and consumer technology content for our readers. We live at the crossroads of invention, culture, mobile, 3D printing and more, where the greatest ideas of today inspire the innovations of tomorrow.


[mailpoet_form id="1"]