Bafta Game Awards

Bafta Game Award Winners announced

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

The British Academy of Film and Television Art (Bafta) Game Awards took place in London last night and Nintendo and Ninja Theory had a rather decent evening.

The former picked up three awards; one for The Legend Of Zelda: Breath Of the Wild, which won the award for Game Innovation, and Super Mario Odyssey picked up the gongs for both Game Design and Family Entertainment.

Cambridge-based Ninja Theory also won big on the night with Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice walking away with five awards including Best British Game, Best Artistic Achievement and Best Performance in a Videogame for Melina Juergens as Senua.

In a surprise twist, however, the award for Best Game didn’t go to a Triple A title. Instead it went to indie studio Giant Sparrow for its intriguing mystery, What Remains of Edith Finch. This was a rather tough field, as the game was ranged against Assassin’s Creed: Origins, Hellblade, Horizon Zero Dawn, The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, and Super Mario Odyssey.

A full list of the winners can be viewed below:

Best Game: What Remains of Edith Finch

Best British Game: Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice

Best Original Property: Horizon Zero Dawn

Best Game Innovation: The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

Best Game Design: Super Mario Odyssey

Best Evolving Game: Overwatch

Best Narrative: Night In The Woods

Best Multiplayer: Divinity: Original Sin 2

Game Beyond Entertainment: Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice

Best Debut Game: Gorogoa

Best Family Entertainment: Super Mario Odyssey

Best Artistic Achievement: Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice

Best Music: Cuphead

Best Audio Achievement: Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice

Best Mobile Game: Golf Clash

Best Performance in a Videogame: Melina Juergens (Senua in Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice)

The evening was rounded off by Bafta presenting its fellowship award to DoubleFine’s Tim Schafer, the man behind the likes of Brutal Legend, Day Of The Tentacle, Psychonauts and Grim Fandango. In the past Bafta has honoured John Carmack, Gabe Newell, Peter Molyneux, Shigeru Miyamoto and the Houser brothers, so Tim’s in pretty good company – and may we say, it’s about time!