Bandai Namco wants to scare you with The Dark Pictures Anthology

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Bandai Namco and Supermassive Games have announced a new project that hopes to scare gamers, regularly.

The project is The Dark Pictures Anthology. The two firms have said that the project will feature a series of stand-alone, cinematic horror games.

If this style of game sounds familiar that’s because Supermassive Games was the developer behind Until Dawn.

The first game in this all new series is Man of Medan. The game will follow four Americans on a diving trip to the suspected location of a World War Two wreckage beneath the ocean.

The name of the game appears to be a reference to the SS Ourang Medan, a fabled ghost ship that became shipwrecked after its crew died under mysterious circumstances.

Players will be able to take on the role of each of the characters as well as the captain of the boat they are on.

“With each title being a standalone game, we have the opportunity to create a unique horror experience every time, with new stories, settings, characters and cast. As a studio we have a passion to deliver powerful cinematic horror, and we can’t wait for players to experience these new games across PS4, XBOX and PC,” said chief executive officer at Supermassive Games, Pete Samuels.

The Dark Pictures Anthology – Man of Medan is set to launch in 2019 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC.

Brendyn Lotz

Brendyn Lotz

Brendyn Lotz writes news, reviews, and opinion pieces for Hypertext. His interests include SMEs, innovation on the African continent, cybersecurity, blockchain, games, geek culture and YouTube.