Formula E confirmed for Cape Town in 2022

AUTODROMO MIGUEL E. ABED, MEXICO - JUNE 19: Mitch Evans (NZL), Jaguar Racing, Jaguar I-TYPE 5 during the Puebla E-Prix I at Autodromo Miguel E. Abed on Saturday June 19, 2021, Mexico. (Photo by Andrew Ferraro / LAT Images)

There is a lot of uncertainty surrounding sporting events during the pandemic era, but that has not stopped the City of Cape Town from successfully bidding to be a host city for next year’s ABB FIA Formula E World Championship. Jaguar and bid partner e-Movement announced that Cape Town has been included for the 2022 schedule in February.

The announcement was made this week by the Federation Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) in Geneva, following a scheduled meeting to approve the season eight calendar by Formula E Operations. As the founding partner to e-Movement, Jaguar South Africa supported the bid to host the first Formula E event in Cape Town, a press release sent to Hypertext explains.

“This is a historic first for our country and Jaguar South Africa is ecstatic to have been part of the team to secure Formula E for Cape Town and South Africa,” noted Richard Gouverneur, MD of Jaguar Land Rover South Africa regarding the announcement.

“We are delighted and honoured to be included on the calendar after two years of bidding to make this dream a reality,” added Iain Banner, chairman of e-Movement.

Given that it has been several decades since FIA-level racing has taken place in South Africa, it is certainly. a feather in the cap of the the city and motorsport in general for the country. While it remains to be seen what the status of COVID-19 in SA is like come February 2022, hopefully there is the chance for fans to see the Formula E vehicles race in person.

“On a personal level, having grown up in South Africa, I’m incredibly excited to be racing in my home country with the team. For Jaguar the announcement is very welcome as South Africa is an important market,” enthused Jaguar Racing Team director, James Barclay.

The current 2022 Formula E schedule (subject to changes) is as follows:

Event Round Location Date
One One and Two Diriyah, Saudi Arabia 28th and 29th January 2022
Two Three Mexico City, Mexico 12th February 2022
Three Four Cape Town, South Africa 26th February 2022
Four Five China (TBC) 19th March 2022
Five Six Rome, Italy 9th April 2022
Six Seven Monaco, Monaco 30th April 2022
Seven Eight Berlin, Germany 15th May 2022
Eight Nine TBC 4th June 2022
Nine 10 Vancouver, Canada 2nd July 2022
10 11 and 12 New York City, USA 16th and 17th July 2022
11 13 and 14 London, UK 30th and 31st July 2022
12 15 and 16 Seoul, South Korea 13th and 14th August 2022
Exit mobile version