23rd February 2024 12:32 pm
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Eskom to honour locals pioneering energy efficiency at eta Awards

As Eskom issues warnings that there are likely to be more electricity power outs this winter, news that it has also opened up entries for its annual energy efficiency awards strikes as either ironic or symptomatic of existential angst. We can’t decide which.

But here they are, all the same. In partnership with the Department of Energy the monopoly provider of power, will be hosting its 25th annual eta Awards, honouring such people for their exceptional effort in the more efficient use of energy. 

The word eta comes from the Greek symbol for efficiency, hence the name of the awards. Eskom is calling on individuals, students, companies or other institutions who fall under the following categories to submit their entries:

Commercial: For the application of sound energy efficiency principles for at least 12 months in the commercial sector, for instance projects in hotels, shopping centres, businesses or hospitals 

Industrial: For the application of sound energy efficiency principles for at least 12 months in the industrial sector, for instance projects at manufacturing plants, smelters, mines, etc.

Residential: For the application of sound energy efficiency principles for at least 12 months in the residential sector, such as people reducing their household consumption drastically or residential street lighting projects

Community category: For persons who have rolled out innovative energy projects in rural or urban communities.

Young designers: Aimed at school-going children with a creative idea, programme, design or prototype that looks at the efficient use of energy and not the generation of energy. 

Energy efficiency awareness: Aimed at media or communication managers within large corporates who have made an exceptional effort to promote energy efficiency to employees. 

Innovation: This new category recognises prototypes that reduce the energy consumption of equipment of buildings in any way, or brilliant ideas that could contribute to energy efficiency.

Energy savings in households: This new category recognises and rewards people who have implemented innovative energy efficiency applications at home.

Winners in each category will receive a grand prize of R30 000, while runners-up will receive R5 000 each. Entry submission close on 8th August 2014 and can be submitted under each category on the eta Awards site. The gala awards evening will take place later this year in November.

[Source – eta Awards. Image – Shutterstock]


Popular News

Subscribe to our newsletter

Select list(s):

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.