Afrinolly short film awards winners announced

Indie film-makers from across the continent can finally breath – the winners of this year’s MTN Afrinolly Short Film Competition have been announced. First prize for a fictional film was taken by German-born director Florian Schott (who now works in Namibia) for his 14 minute short about a surreal day of bizarre co-incidences (most of which are life threatening and involving gangsters) in the life of an anonymous Windhoek resident who loses his phone.

Everything Happens for a Reason scooped the quarter of a million rand first prize. This is it below.

An award of equal size was also given to the winner of the documentary section, Victor Okoye, for his film Creative Minds, which follows a group of Nigerians who go abroad seeking ‘green pastures’ and end up struggling in the Ukrainian city of Luhansk. Okoye focusses on three students who’ve made the city their home and drawn on their entrepreneurial abilities to turn their chances around. Well worth watching.

Four other films out of 400 entries won prizes.  The full list is below, and you can watch them all here.

Short Film
First Prize ($25,000) : Everything Happens for a Reason by Florian Schott
Second Prize ($10,000) : Crimson – Your Cup of Tea by Daniel Etim Effiong
Third Prize ($5,000) : 10:10 by Gbenga Salu

First Prize ($25,000) : Creative Minds by Victor Okoye
Second Prize ($10,000) : Awele’s Diary by Ronke Ogunmakin
Third Prize ($5,000) : Yellow Fever by Ng’endo Mukii


About Author


Related News