IITPSA announces winners for President’s Awards 2022

  • This week IITPSA held its annual President’s Awards, which celebrated its 65th anniversary.
  • Six awards in total were handed out, acknowledging the work of IT professionals locally this year.
  • A new category was also added for this year – Dynamism in ICT Youth Award.

This week the Institute of Information Technology Professionals South Africa (IITPSA) held the 2022 edition of its President’s Awards, as the organisation celebrated its 65th anniversary.

One of the notable aspects of this year’s Awards, was the fact that a new category was added to the mix acknowledging the contributions that younger IT professionals are making in the local industry.

“With a history spanning over 40 years, the awards have continued to evolve over time, and this year introduced a youth award for exceptional achievement and promise among IT professionals under the age of 35. The new Dynamism in IT Youth Award, launched to support the IITPSA’s efforts to encourage and raise the profile of emerging IT professionals, was well supported, with a corps of strong nominees,” explained the IITPSA in a press release sent to Hypertext.

Also of note was the makeup of nominees for this year’s Awards, with it split between male and female IT professionals.

“This year, for the first time, we saw a 50-50 split between men and women among the finalists. We see this as an encouraging sign that gender gaps in the sector are finally closing,” highlighted IITPSA president Admire Gwanzura.

“We are gratified to see the sheer numbers of brilliant and deserving candidates being put forward for recognition every year. This may make selecting winners a difficult task for our panel of judges, but it indicates that South African IT is world class, populated by scores of visionaries, strong leaders and innovators,” added IITPSA CEO Tony Parry.

As for the winners, one of the most coveted awards on the day went to WeThinkCode CEO, Nyari Samushonga, who was named IT Personality of the Year. The aforementioned Dynamism in IT Youth Award went to Ayanda Kevin Dladla, CEO and founder of Mowash and Runtime.

The full lineup of winners for the 2022 IITPSA President’s Awards are as follows:

  • IT Personality Award – Nyari Samushonga, CEO of WeThinkCode,
  • Visionary CIO Award – Intikhab Shaik, head of Technology and Solutions Delivery at SARS,
  • Technology Excellence Award – Justin Thomas, head of Strategy, Product Development and Digital Transformation at Standard Bank Fleet,
  • Social Responsibility/Community Award – Siyavula,
  • Dynamism in ICT Youth Award – Ayanda Kevin Dladla, CEO and founder of Mowash and Runtime,
  • Distinguished Service in ICT Award – Christopher Guy, IITPSA fellow and Membership/Critical Skills assessor.

About Author


Related News