The new animated Marvel X-Men series gets a streaming release date

  • X-Men ’97 is set to continue the original story of the iconic X-Men: The Animated Series that concludes abruptly in 1997.
  • The new show is made with modern computer animation techniques in the style of the original cell-animated series.
  • It premiers on Disney+ on 20th March 2024.

Billed as a continuation of the iconic X-Men: The Animated Series – you know the one with the theme song – X-Men ’97 is set to continue the story of the original show that ended its original run in 1997. Unlike the original cell-animated series, the new version looks to be made using modern computer animation techniques but with slavish adherence to the aesthetic of the original show.

The new series is being billed as a revival or “next season” of sorts rather than a brand-new show. It will feature the same storyline as the original almost 30 years later.

Check out the full cast in all their 90s glory. Image provided.

X-Men ’97 will stream on Disney+ worldwide on 20th March 2024 for 10 new episodes in which you get to see classic versions of Cyclops, Wolverine, Storm, Gambit, Jubilee, Rogue, Beast, Jean Grey and Magneto return for a modern audience. New characters are also in the new series, like mutants Morph and Bishop.

Disney has released a trailer and a teaser poster to mark the occasion before the show debuts on Disney+. The teaser poster features the classic versions X-Men characters on the backs of VHS tapes, marking the kind of feel Marvel Studios Animation want to convey – that it is a throwback.

In terms of what you can expect if you never watched the original, Disney says that “X-Men’97 revisits the iconic era of the 1990s as The X-Men, a band of mutants who use their uncanny gifts to protect a world that hates and fears them, are challenged like never before, forced to face a dangerous and unexpected new future.”

Unfortunately, most of the original voice cast has been replaced but Cal Dodd is returning to reprise Wolverine. The cast also includes Ray Chase as Cyclops, the great Jennifer Hale as Jean Grey, Alison Sealy-Smith as Storm, JP Karliak as Morph, Lenore Zann as Rogue, George Buza as Beast, AJ LoCascio as Gambit, Holly Chou as Jubilee, Isaac Robinson-Smith as Bishop, Matthew Waterson as Magneto and Adrian Hough as Nightcrawler.

Beau DeMayo serves as head writer; episodes are directed by Jake Castorena, Chase Conley and Emi Yonemura. Featuring music by The Newton Brothers, the series is executive produced by Brad Winderbaum, Kevin Feige, Louis D’Esposito, Victoria Alonso and DeMayo. ​

Check out the new trailer below:

[Image – Provided]


About Author


Related News