So you’ve downloaded Tinder but after mere moments on the app you see your ex and you’re already fed up with the app.
A new feature from Tinder might make this a thing of a past as users can now block users if they have their contact number.
“We may not be able to save you from awkward run-ins at the coffee shop, but we are giving you more control over your experience on Tinder,” says group product manager of Trust and Safety at Tinder, Bernadette Morgan. “We’re rolling out Block Contacts as an additional resource empowering members with peace of mind by helping create a worry-free space for them to spark new connections.”
Tinder says that the feature is available for members everywhere and while we have seen one pop-up prompting us to block users, we can’t seem to find the option now as per Tinder’s FAQ. We suspect our app is still awaiting an update.
In order to block a contact you will need to have that person’s contact number and hopefully that number is the same one they registered with Tinder otherwise this won’t work.
The good news is the person being blocked won’t know that they are blocked. Another clever feature is that the user will be blocked whether they have Tinder now or download it in the future.
Being able to block a contact or even just a match is a feature that’s been sorely missing from Tinder and hopefully the ability to block folks will make navigating the app a bit more manageable.
“In fact, a recent survey commissioned by Tinder found that more than 40 percent of respondents have come across an ex partner on a dating app. Another 24 percent have seen a family member or colleague, and one in ten have even encountered their professor’s profile. Awkward. Given the chance, 78 percent of those surveyed would prefer to not see, or be seen by, these connections on an app,” explained Tinder.
As mentioned you can read more about how to block and unblock contacts on Tinder here.